Looking In The Mirror

WHAT DO I SEE?

I look in the mirror and what do I see?
I see a young woman looking back at me.
I stand and stare into her eyes so sad,
And wonder about the life she could have had.

I look in the mirror and what do I see?
I see a young child looking back at me.
I reach out my hand and touch her dark hair,
I want her to know that I will always care.

I look in the mirror and what do I see?
I see a young lady looking back at me.
I stand and smile in acknowledgement of her dedication,
I am so proud of her solid education.

I look in the mirror and what do I see?
I see a business woman looking back at me.
I admire her good looks and the confidence she exudes to all,
I know she is hungry for power and will never fall.

I look in the mirror and what do I see?
I see a wife looking back at me.
I see the love in her smile so wide,
I know he will always be by her side.

I look in the mirror and what do I see?
I see a mother looking back at me.
I watch the children looking at her above,
And know this is what they call unconditional love.

I look in the mirror and what do I see?
I see a young woman looking back at me.
This young woman what a life she has had,
I tell her there is no reason to be sad.

I look in the mirror and look at me.
My life, flashing before me, I know what I see.
I accept my flaws, of which there are many,
But with each new day I will remain steady.

I look in the mirror and look at me.
I have love all around me that is what I see.

Leave a Reply

